1.3.2 Ecological assets


The water-dependent asset register for the preliminary assessment extent (PAE) of the Pedirka subregion contains 992 individual ecological assets. The water-dependent ecological assets encompass a large proportion of the area of the PAE. The asset register consists of 772 assets in the ‘Vegetation’ subgroup, 15 in the ‘Groundwater feature’ subgroup and 205 in the ‘Surface water feature’ subgroup. All nominated surface water and groundwater assets are assessed as water dependent. Of the nominated ‘Vegetation’ subgroup assets, 235 groundwater-dependent ecosystem (GDE) assets were excluded because of their low reliability status and a lack of evidence of water dependence using the datasets based on satellite imagery. Furthermore, 12 species habitat assets were excluded as the habitats could not be shown to fulfil the criteria for water dependence. The asset register includes one threatened ecological community and the potential spatial habitat distribution of three species listed under the Commonwealth’s Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (EPBC Act). The asset register also includes the potential habitat distributions of one additional species listed under Queensland’s Nature Conservation Act 1992 (Nature Conservation Act).

Last updated:
28 September 2018